How to Stop Sharing my Documents and Files on Google Drive?


Today we are going to see how to stop sharing my documents and files on Google Drive quickly and easily on the computer.

We cannot deny the enormous comforts and security that cloud services like Google Drive give us. Thanks to these we can not only make backup copies of our files. If not also share them with whoever we want at the time we want.

Not to mention the fact of being able to access said records anytime, anywhere, as long as we have an internet connection. Hard drives and devices such as USB or DVD, have been in the past to make backup copies. Something normal since these can be damaged at any time.

The best thing is to have everything in the cloud, especially because of services like Google Drive or OneDrive, among others. They have the possibility of have a free account with a huge amount of space for average users and they are very trustworthy companies.

You may also be interested in:

But going back to the main topic, one of its functions is the ability to share files or folders. However, perhaps after sharing it and meeting your goal, you don’t want anyone to be able to access it. How do we solve it? You don’t need to delete or delete anything. We are simply going to modify the permissions so that no one else can enter it.

let share files

How to stop sharing files on Google Drive

  • The first thing you should do is enter Google Drive in Chrome. Generally, if you are logged in, it automatically recognizes your account. If it doesn’t, you will have to log in.
  • Now you will have to find the file or folder that you want to stop sharing in Drive.
  • Then you must press right click on it and a drop-down menu will open.
  • Among these options you must click on “Compartir“Or”Share”Depending on the language you have Chrome in.
  • A pop-up window opens, the option we are looking for is in the lower right part of it. Click on “Advanced”.
  • On “Who has access“You will have to click on”Change”Is a link that is colored blue. It will allow you to change the permissions of the folder or file.
  • Among the options that appear you will have to choose “disabled“Which means that you can share the folder, but people who see it won’t be able to.
  • However, those who already have access to said folder, will be able to continue entering it.
  • Once you finish with the changes, the only thing left to do is press the button in the lower left corner “Keep”.

documents folders google drive

How to stop sharing documents and folders in Drive

  • In case you want to remove access to certain people in the window, you will have to click on the “X”Found on the right side of every email.
  • When you finish eliminating all the people, “Private“Just below”Who has access”. This means that no one will be able to access the folder, only you.
  • To finish, what you have to do is press on “Save Changes”Is the blue button that appears in the lower left.
  • Now all you have to do is press the blue button that says “Ready”Just below the left which will close the pop-up window and you will be able to see all the files you have in your Drive.

As you can see, it is a simple process that shouldn’t take more than a few minutes. We recommend that you do it from a computer, since from the application it cannot be done so easily.

You may also be interested in:


We hope this tutorial on how to stop sharing files and documents in Drive would be very useful to you. If you have any questions, you can leave it in the comments.

How useful did you find this content?

Click on a star to rate!

Average score 0 / 5. Counting of votes: 0

So far, no votes. Be the first to rate this content.

I'm sorry this content was not useful for you!

Let me improve this content!

Tell me, how can I improve this content?

Deja un comentario